

Standards Dispensation Sub-Committee

MINUTES OF THE STANDARDS DISPENSATION SUB-COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 8 MARCH 2023 AT THE NORTH WILTSHIRE ROOM - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Ruth Hopkinson and Cllr Graham Wright

Also Present:

Cllr Edward Kirk

1 **Election of Chairman**

On the nomination of Councillor Allison Bucknell, seconded by Councillor Ruth Hopkinson, it was,

Resolved:

To elect Councillor Graham Wright as Chairman for this meeting only.

2 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations.

3 Consideration of Dispensation Requests

The Sub-Committee considered requests for dispensations as set out in Agenda Supplements 1 and 2, from Councillors Phil Alford, Jack Oatley, Jon Hubbard, Jo Trigg, Edward Kirk, David Vigar, Mel Jacob, Stewart Palmen, Caroline Thomas, Sam Pearce-Kearney, Jane Davies, Daniel Cave, Antonio Piazza, and Tony Trotman.

Councillor Kirk attended to make a statement in respect of his request, and then withdrew.

The Sub-Committee reviewed the requests, considered the criteria under which a dispensation could be granted, and following debate it was,

Resolved:

- 1) To grant dispensations to remain in the room, and to vote, in respect of matters relating to an Other Registerable Interest as set out below, as follows:
 - Councillors Phil Alford, Jack Oatley, Jon Hubbard (Members of Melksham Town Council)

- Councillors Jo Trigg, Edward Kirk, David Vigar, Mel Jacob, Stewart Palmen, Daniel Cave, Antonio Piazza (Members of Trowbridge Town Council)
- Councillor Jane Davies (Member of Marlborough Town Council)
- Councillors Sam Pearce-Kearney, Tony Trotman (Members of Calne Town Council)

For a period up to the conclusion of the current council term (12 May 2025) for the following reasons:

To prevent impediment to transaction of council business; in the interests of persons living in the Council's area; and as being otherwise appropriate.

- 2) To not grant a dispensation in respect of the request from Councillor Caroline Thomas.
- 3) To note the additional requests from Councillor Sam Pearce-Kearney did not require a dispensation, and to refer to the Monitoring Officer for advice.

(Duration of meeting: 3.30 - 4.20 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Kieran Elliott of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718504, e-mail kieran.elliott@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk